Football: Cadets Hold Annual Team Banquet

Football: Cadets Hold Annual Team Banquet

NORTHFIELD, Vt.—Norwich University head football coach Mark Murnyack and his staff honored the 2012 football team at the program's year-end awards banquet, held Feb. 2 at Plumley Armory.

In addition to four individual awards, the coaching staff also celebrated team highlights such as a 7-3 overall record and an appearance in the ECAC North Atlantic Bowl.

The Mike Yesalonia Most Valuable Player award was presented to senior quarterback Kris Sabourin (Georgia, Vt.). Sabourin had a record-setting season as he now holds program records in career rushing yardage, career touchdown passes, career yards per carry, and all-purpose yardage records in a game, season and career. 

The Barry Mynter Award for Desire, Dedication and Commitment was awarded to senior offensive lineman Sean Southworth (Exeter, N.H.). A captain for the 2012 season, Southworth provided leadership to an offensive line that blocked for two 900-yard rushers this season.

Junior defensive lineman Nick Pulaski (Stratford, Conn.) was named the recipient of the Joe Sabol Most Improved Player award.  Pulaski, who saw limited action in his first two seasons at Norwich, appeared in all 10 games in 2012 and totaled 31 tackles.

Junior punter Drew Banuskevich (Peterborough, N.H.) earned the Shawn McIntyre Special Teams Player of the Year award.  In addition to totaling 1,368 punting yards, the junior also had a successful season in the classroom, as he was named Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-American this season.

In addition, the Norwich coaching staff presented former head coach Barry Mynter with a plaque to honor his 20-plus years of service to the program.  Mynter currently serves as President of the NU Touchdown Club.