Men's Ice Hockey: Mike McShane Named AHCA Division III "Coach Of The Year"

Men's Ice Hockey: Mike McShane Named AHCA Division III "Coach Of The Year"

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Mike McShane, who led Norwich University to a 26-1-4 record and the school’s third NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey National Championship, has been named the 42nd recipient of the Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the Men’s Division III Ice Hockey Coach of the Year.

For McShane, the recognition marks the fourth time he has been so honored, tying Middlebury’s Bill Beaney for the most such awards.

Norwich Hockey celebrated its 100th season in 2009-10 and it couldn’t have had a better ending. In defeating St. Norbert College, 2-1 in double overtime, the Cadets scored the winning goal in the 100th minute of the game in their 100th season.

This past season, McShane guided the Cadets to their eighth Final Four appearance in 15 years behind the NU bench. He led a young team that won just 13 games last year to the national title, the ECAC East regular season title and the ECAC East tournament title.

McShane, who was selected as the ECAC East “Coach of the Year” for the third season in a row, completed his 10th 20-win season since arriving at Norwich. His career record at Norwich is 319-90-21 and his overall record, including stints at Providence College and St. Lawrence University, is 563-308-58.

McShane, a native of Wakefield, Mass., played college hockey at the University of New Hampshire for Charlie Holt, graduating in 1971 as the third leading scorer in Wildcat history. Before becoming a head coach in the college ranks, he was a prep school coach at the New Hampton School (N.H.) and also served as an assistant coach at Dartmouth College.

This season, McShane was assisted by Steve Mattson and Cory Gustafson.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runners-up for this year’s Edward Jeremiah Award were Ed Gosek of SUNY Oswego and Tim Coghlin of St. Norbert College. Both are past winners of the award.

The Coach of the Year Awards are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Celebration of Men’s Ice Hockey Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, Fla. This year’s banquet is scheduled for Saturday, May 1.

Past Winners of the Edward Jeremiah Award
1970 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1971 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1972 Jack Canniff, UMass-Amherst
1973 Jim Cross, Vermont
1974 Barry Urbanski, Boston State
1975 Wendall Forbes, Middlebury
1976 Don Roberts, Gustavus Adolphus
1977 Bill Riley, Jr., UMass-Lowell
1978 Sid Watson, Bowdoin
1979 Don Brose, Mankato State
1980 Steve Stirling, Babson
1981 Herb Hammond, Plattsburgh
1982 Steve Stirling, Babson
1983 Mike Gibbons, Bemidji & Peter Van Buskirk, Holy Cross
1984 Bob Peters, Bemidji
1985 Rob Riley, Babson
1986 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1987 Tony Mariano, Norwich
1988 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1989 Terry Meagher, Bowdoin
1990 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1991 Glenn Thomaris, Elmira
1992 Bruce Marshall, Connecticut
1993 Joe Baldarotta, Wisconsin-Stevens Point
1994 Jeff Meredith, Fredonia
1995 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
1996 Dean Talafous, Wisconsin-River Falls
1997 Mike McShane, Norwich
1998 Mike Schwartz, Augsburg
1999 Mike McShane, Norwich
2000 Mike McShane, Norwich
2001 Wayne Wilson, RIT
2002 Dan Stauber, Wisconsin-Superior
2003 George Roll, Oswego
2004 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2005 Terry Skrypek, St. Thomas
2006 Bill Beaney, Middlebury
2007 Ed Gosek, Oswego
2008 Tim Coghlin, St. Norbert College
2009 Dominick Dawes, Neumann
2010 Mike McShane, Norwich