Men’s Hockey: Gorman named semifinalist for Joe Concannon Award

Men’s Hockey: Gorman named semifinalist for Joe Concannon Award

BOSTON – Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Bob Norton announced on Wednesday morning that 18 players have been named semi-finalists for the 14th Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England playing at the Division II-III level.

Senior forward Shane Gorman (Trumbull, Conn.) will look to become the third Norwich University men's ice hockey player to win the prestigious award. Colin Mulvey '13 was last year's winner and Keith Aucoin '01 was the inaugural Concannon Award winner in 2001.

Gorman is enjoying a breakout final season in the Maroon & Gold, tallying eight goals and 19 assists for 27 points. He leads the team in assists this season and just recently played in his 100th career game last weekend against New England College. Gorman has 28 goals and 49 assists for 77 points in his career.

The Gridiron Club plans to announce the finalists and winner of the 14th Joe Concannon Award in March, prior to the start of NCAA Frozen Four on March 21. The presentation of the award will be at the New England Hockey Writers dinner in April.

2001       Keith Aucoin                      Norwich University 
2002        Michael Carosi                    Bowdoin College
2003        Nick Stauder                       Salem State College
2004        Jim Pancyzkowski               Wesleyan University
                Michael O'Sullivan               Curry College
2005        Brian Doherty                     Curry College
                Joseph Ori                          Trinity College
2006        Adam Dann                         Bowdoin College
2007        Greg Osborne                     Colby College
2008        Tom Maldonado                  Middlebury College
2009        Jeff Landers                        Amherst College
2010        Coleman Noonan                St. Anselm College
2011        Josh Harris                          Castleton College
2012        Jeremiah Ketts                    Johnson & Wales University
2013       Colin Mulvey                      Norwich University