Men’s Hockey: Three Cadets named semifinalists for Joe Concannon Award

Cody Smith, Ty Piacentini, Kevin Salvucci - 2017 Concannon Award Semifinalists

BOSTON – Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Jim Kearney announced Thursday that a record 26 players have been named semifinalists for the 17th Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England playing at the Division II-III level. 

Senior co-captain forward Tyler Piacentini (South Weymouth, Mass.) is a semifinalist for the second straight season, while classmate Cody Smith (Hudson, Mass.) and junior Kevin Salvucci (Plymouth, Mass.) are also up for the award. 

The trio will look to become the third Norwich University men's ice hockey player to win the prestigious award. Colin Mulvey '13 was the 2013 winner and Keith Aucoin '01 was the inaugural Concannon Award winner in 2001. 

Piacentini has 13 goals and 11 assists for 24 points this season to rank fifth on the team. He hit the 100-career-game milestone earlier this season and has scored 35 goals while dishing out 45 assists for 80 points in his NU career. He leads the team with four game-winning goals. 

Smith is having a breakout offensive senior season as the blue liner ranks second in the country with 26 assists. He also has potted two goals as well for 28 points to lead all NCAA Division III defensemen. He leads the team with a +25 plus-minus rating on the season. 

Salvucci ranks tied for second on the team with Piacentini with 13 goals on the year. He also had 14 assists for 27 points, establishing a new single-season career high point total. Salvucci has potted seven power play goals, which ranks tied for eighth in the nation.   

Norwich (20-1-3, 15-1-1 NEHC) is ranked No. 1 both of the latest poll and national rankings. The Cadets close out the regular season on Saturday at 4 p.m. when they travel to Saint Michael's College. 

The Gridiron Club plans to announce the finalists and winner of the 17th Joe Concannon Award in March, prior to the start of NCAA Division III Tournament in Mid-March. The formal presentation of the award will be at the New England Hockey Writers dinner in April.


2001        Keith Aucoin                      Norwich University 
2002        Michael Carosi                    Bowdoin College
2003        Nick Stauder                       Salem State College
2004        Jim Pancyzkowski              Wesleyan University
Michael O'Sullivan             Curry College
2005        Brian Doherty                     Curry College
Joseph Ori                           Trinity College
2006        Adam Dann                         Bowdoin College
2007        Greg Osborne                      Colby College
2008        Tom Maldonado                 Middlebury College
2009        Jeff Landers                        Amherst College
2010        Coleman Noonan                St. Anselm College
2011        Josh Harris                          Castleton College
2012        Jeremiah Ketts                    Johnson & Wales University
2013        Colin Mulvey                      Norwich University
2014        Jackson Brewer                   Trinity College
2015        Jamie Murray                      Babson College
2016        Jamie Murray                      Babson College