Men’s Hockey: Aubrun named AHCA Third Team All-American

Men’s Hockey: Aubrun named AHCA Third Team All-American

STEVENS POINT, Wis.  – Junior goalie Tom Aubrun (Chamonix, France) of the Norwich University men's ice hockey team was selected to the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) East Region All-American Third Team on Thursday night at the 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship Banquet. 

Aubrun is having one of the best single-season performances in the 100-plus year history of Norwich University men's ice hockey. In his first season as the starting goalie, Aubrun has shined, ranking among the nation's leaders in many goaltending categories. 

Aubrun has posted a 19-3-3 record (third) with a 1.65 goals against average (seventh), .930 save percentage (17th) and six shutouts (third), which all rank in the in the top 20 in the country in every category. 

Aubrun was named the New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) Co-Player of the Year and Goalie of the Year, marking the second straight year a NU goalie has won the league's top goalie honor after Braeden Ostepchuk won it last year. 

Aubrun won four NEHC Goalie of the Week awards this season and his six shutouts tie Ryan Klingensmith '10 for the most in a single-season in NU program history. 

Aubrun is the 47th All-American in NU men's hockey history and the first since William Pelletier '17 and Cody Smith '17 earned the honor in 2017. 

Norwich (22-4-3) continues its quest for its fifth national championship in program history on Friday at 3 p.m. Central/4 p.m. Eastern when it takes on SUNY Geneseo (25-1-2) in the national semifinals at the K.B. Willett Arena in Stevens Point, Wis. UW-Stevens Point (27-0-2) hosts Hobart College (21-7-2) at 7 p.m. Central/8 p.m. Eastern in the other semifinal. The two winners will meet for the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship at 7 p.m. Central/8 p.m. Eastern on Saturday.