Men’s Hockey: Swanson wins Elite 90 award, sixth NU men’s player all-time to earn the honor

Men’s Hockey: Swanson wins Elite 90 award, sixth NU men’s player all-time to earn the honor

STEVENS POINT, Wis.  – Scott Swanson (Wheaton, Ill.), a sophomore at Norwich University, is the recipient of the Elite 90 award for the 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Championship. 

Swanson, a management major, currently carries a 3.94 GPA. Swanson was presented with the award during the men's ice hockey championship banquet on Thursday evening in Stevens Point, Wis. 

Swanson is the sixth NU men's hockey player that has won the award after Igor Martinez won twice in 2010 and 2012, Alex Dubois in 2011, Nicholas Poulin in 2013 and Braeden Ostepchuk in 2017. Norwich men's hockey has won the award six times in the 10-year history. 

Swanson has four goals and eight assists for 12 points in 24 games played this season for the Cadets. The forward has played in 49 career games with 11 goals and 13 assists for 24 points. 

Norwich has had seven Elite 90 winners in school history with the six men's ice hockey players, as well as Carly Menges (Novelty, Ohio) from the women's ice hockey team in 2017. 

The Elite 90, an award founded by the NCAA, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA's championships. 

Eligible student-athletes are sophomores or above who have participated in their sport for at least two years with their school. They must be an active member of the team, traveling and a designated member of the squad size at the championship. All ties are broken by the number of credits completed. 

For more information on the Elite 90 award winners, log on to