Men's Hockey: 18 Cadets earn NEHC All-Academic Team honors

Men's Hockey: 18 Cadets earn NEHC All-Academic Team honors


MARSHFIELD, Mass. - The Norwich University men's ice hockey team had a league-high 18 student-athletes earn New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) All-Academic Team honors on Wednesday afternoon. 

To be eligible for NEHC All-Academic recognition, a student must carry a minimum of a 3.0 cumulative GPA and have completed one full-year at their current institution. There were a total of 120 honorees among the 10 NEHC member institutions. Norwich tied New England College for having the most members on the team. 

Senior Cam Beecy (Stowe, Vt.) led the way, earning the honor for the third straight season. Juniors Christian Thompson (Windham, N.H.), Taeron Lewis (Winnipeg, Manitoba), Todd Jackson (Holly Springs, N.C.), Jordan Hall (Anchorage, Alaska), Jack Griffin (Duxbury, Mass.), Jake Erickson (Stillwater, Minn.), TJ Dockery(Lockport, N.Y.), Josh Cronin (Langley, British Columbia) and Tom Aubrun(Chamonix, France) all earned NEHC All-Academic team honors for the second straight season.

Junior Matt Burchill (Marshfield, Mass.), as well as sophomores Ben Nelson (York, Maine), Felix Brassard (St. Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec), Connor Swystun (Saskatoon, Sakatchewan), Michael Korol (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan), Scott Swanson (Wheaton, Ill.), Kale Kane (Kahnawake, Quebec) and Carter Cowlthorp (Boissevain, Manitoba) all earned the honor for the first time in their careers.  

Norwich (23-5-3) finished as the national runner up, falling 3-2 in overtime to No. 1-ranked UW-Stevens Point at the K.B. Willett Arena in Stevens Point, Wis. on March 23 in the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship game. The Cadets won their 13th NEHC Tournament title and made their 18th NCAA Tournament appearance in 2018-19 under first-year head coach Cam Ellsworth.