Men's Rugby - Cadets' 2011 fall season recognized

Men's Rugby - Cadets' 2011 fall season recognized

NORTHFIELD, Vt. – Norwich University men’s rugby coach Bob Weggler and his staff announced team awards for the 2011 fall season at their banquet Dec. 5.

Weggler introduced honored guests Athletic Director Tony Mariano, Professor David Orrick, and Dan Poalino, a parent of a former player. Poalino’s son, Eric, recently graduated from Ranger School. He received an honorary Norwich Rugby Varsity Letter and Ruggadillo Patch. Dan played on tour this past spring during the 40th Anniversary Ireland Tour as well and was part of the fall 2011 Alumni Match.

Recognized for their efforts to the program were Tony Mariano, Athletic Director; Joe Martinez, Athletic Trainer; Jeff Krueger, Strength and Conditioning Coach; Coaches George Betzler and Dewey Meteer; Curtis Ostler, Volunteer  Coach/Photographer; Professor David Orrick, Academic Supporter; and George Lepeltier, Special Advisor.

The seniors honored were co-captains Josh Nowak (Arlington, Mass.) and Jaimes Plamondon (Biddeford, Me.), Scott Chisholm (Stoughton, Mass.), Peter Fisher (Victor, N.Y.), Adam Medeiros (Fairhaven, R.I.), Bryon Stueber (Ovideo, Fla.), Mike Brooks (North Reading, Mass.), Oliver Emerson (Stuart, Fla.), and Dan Donais (Fairfax Station, Va.). Four and three-year seniors received NU athletic watches for their dedication to Norwich athletics. These seniors had a wide variety of experiences during their four years. They included Division 1 varsity, varsity all four years, two years of playoffs, Ireland Tour, 40th anniversary celebration, loss of rugby pitch, cleaning mud out of basements after Irene, first home match on Lower Disney Field,  new locker rooms in Andrews Hall,  receiving equipment room laundry pins, home NRU playoff match, and the formation of the NECRC- New England Collegiate Rugby  Conference.

In Athletic Director Tony Mariano’s speech he praised the rugby team for their community service efforts during the Irene flood. He mentioned that their efforts will never be forgotten by the community. Mr. Mariano also commended the team on their patience and resilience in losing the pitch for the season after Irene. He mentioned the work that has been done to repair the damages at the Norwich Rugby Dog River Pitch and future plans to be back playing on it next fall.

The Cadets’ 2011 team awards were as follows…

Captain’s Award- Nowak; Captain’s Award- Plamondon; Coach Award- Nowak; Ruggadillo Award- Chisholm; Rookie Award- Kevin Hoelzer (Wilmington, Del.); Ball Retention Award- Pat McGrath (Marshhead, Mass.)

Mitch Award- Dedicated in 1995 - Medeiros -Memory of Richard W. Mitchell II Upperclassman Showing the Most Dedication to the Sport of Rugby

Man of the Match Award - Chisholm, Brown Match, Sept 10 2011; Chris Hein (Baltimore, Md.), UNH Match, Sept 17, 2011; Brooks, BU Match, Sept 24 2011; Nowak, Holy Cross Match, Oct 1 2011; Medeiros, UVM Match, Oct 9 2011; McGrath Coast Match, Oct 16 2011; Gianni Miceli (Burlington, Vt.), U-Maine Match, Oct 22 2011; Matt Maloney (South Boston, Va.) URI Match, Oct 29 2011

Ruggadillo patches were awarded to second-year players Sam Bennett (Falmouth, Mass.), Colin Bleem (Methuen, Mass.), Pat Finamore (Glastonbury, Conn.), team manager Brian Griffin (Belmont, Mass.), Anthony Marrota (Caldwell, N.J.), D’Lontae Sewell (Alexandria, Va.), Chris Tantillo (Sparta, N.J.), Chad Wasson (Clancy, Mont.), Shawn Williams (Mattituck, N.Y.), and Jon Wright (Middlebury, Vt.).

Returning lettermen were Richard Ahearn (Hanover, Mass.), Brooks, Fisher, Hein, Maloney, Miceli, Nowak, Plamondon, Richard Shear (South Africa), Stueber and Wasson.

New lettermen were Donais, Emerson, Chisholm, Medeiros, McGrath, Hoelzer, and Omajuwa Ayida (Lagos, Nigeria).

Numerals for their first year of rugby at Norwich University were awarded to Ayida, Alexis Bedos (Greenwich, Conn.), Grigory Bourlakov (Denver, Colo.),Dan Burkhart (Medfield, Mass.),Erik Boyd (Kathleen, Ga.), Mike Carella (Levitown, N.Y.), Donais, Brandon Drennan (Jersey City, N.J.), Mark Fitzgerald (Andover, Mass.), Andrew Guldin (Waterford, N.J.), Hoelzer, Clinton Jones (Prince George, Va.), Josh Olden (Enfield, Conn.), Seamus Page (Westford, Vt.), Andrew Perrella (Bedford, N.H.), Curtis Priesing (Attleboro, Mass.), Luke Puleo (Bolton, Mass.), Brandon Roy (Halifax, Mass.), Chad Thornton (Proctor, Vt.) and Cody Zappen (Derry, N.H.).