Women’s Hockey: Bolding named finalist for AHCA National D-III Coach of the Year

Women’s Hockey: Bolding named finalist for AHCA National D-III Coach of the Year

NORTHFIELD, Vt. – Norwich women’s ice hockey head coach Mark Bolding will have a chance to win his third straight American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Division III Coach of the Year Award after he was named one of nine finalists for the award this week.

Bolding (Red Deer, Alberta) is the reigning two-time D-III Coach of the Year after leading the Cadets to consecutive National Championship game appearances the last two seasons, including going all the way last season to win the program’s first national championship in just its fourth season of existence.

Bolding has followed up last year’s national championship run by already establishing a new program record for wins in a single season this year with 26. The Cadets will be making their third straight Frozen Four appearance after downing Amherst 5-0 in the NCAA Quarterfinals. NU finished unbeaten in ECAC East play for the second straight season and currently holds a 39-game unbeaten streak about league foes in the regular season.

Norwich qualified for its fourth straight NCAA Tournament after downing Manhattanville 6-3 in the ECAC East Championship for its third ECAC East Tournament title in the last four seasons. Bolding won his 100th career game with a 5-2 win over Castleton in the ECAC East semifinals. He currently holds a 102-32-10 in his fifth season at the helm of the program he has built from the ground up. Over the last four seasons, NU is 90-21-8.

The Cadets have scored 178 goals this season which leads the country by more than a goal per game. It also ranks second in NCAA D-III history for goals by a team in single season to only the Manhattanville's 2003 team which scored 198. Norwich also ranks second in team defense giving up just 1.14 goals per game and the Cadets lead the nation with a power play clicking at 35.8 percent. 

The eight other finalists are Bill Bowes (Castleton), Brett Bruininks (Concordia, Minn.), Mike Carroll (Gustavus Adolphus), Carson Duggan (Trinity), Jay Green (SUNY Potsdam), Kevin Houle (SUNY Plattsburgh), Dan Laughlin (UW-Superior), Scott McDonald (RIT).

The winner will be announced next week, after the conclusion of the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship being played at Rochester Institute of Technology in Rochester, N.Y., this weekend.

The formal presentation of the award to the eventual winner will take place during the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) Convention on Saturday, April 28, in Naples, Fla.

Winners of the Women's Division III Coach of the Year Award


Ted Wisner, Colgate



Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State


Bill Mandigo, Middlebury



Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State


Jamie Wood, Elmira



Kevin Houle, Plattsburgh State


Michele Amidon, Bowdoin



Jim Plumer. Amherst College


Bill Mandigo, Middlebury



Mark Bolding, Norwich


Bill Mandigo, Middlebury



Mark Bolding, Norwich

For all the latest Norwich Athletics news go to www.norwichathletics.com, become a fan on facebook at http://www.facebook.com/#!/NUCadets, visit our YouTube channel at http://www.youtube.com/user/madkins11100, or follow on Twitter at www.twitter.com/NorwichCadets