Women's Hockey: Norwich blasts New England College, 10-1

Women's Hockey: Norwich blasts New England College, 10-1

HENNIKER, N.H. - Sophomore forward Brynn Wopperer (Amherst, N.Y.) scored her first collegiate hat trick to lead the Norwich University women's ice hockey team to a 10-1 victory over New England College on Saturday night at the Lee Clement Arena.

Sophomore forward Amanda Conway (Methuen, Mass.) tallied two goals and two assists, while freshman defenseman Samantha Benoit (Bow, N.H.) had four assists to lead the Norwich (19-1-2, 12-0-0 NEHC) offense on the night.

Wopperer scored the eventual game-winning goal at the 5:42 mark of the second period and then added two more third period goals to complete her first collegiate hat trick. Conway upped her nation-leading point total to 44 points on the year as she now has 23 goals and 21 assists in 22 games played.

Sophomore forward Alyssa Hulst (Scarborough, Maine) opened the scoring with her 14th goal of the season at the 3:51 mark of the first period to give the Cadets a lead they would never look back from.

Norwich only led 1-0 after the first period, but the Cadets poured in four second-period goals to take a 5-1 lead after 40 minutes. After NEC cut the lead to 2-1, Conway scored back-to-back goals late in the second period to give the Cadets insurance tallies.

Jessica Piracini (Tewksbury, Mass.), Sophie McGovern (Hermantown, Minn.), Adrieana Rossini (Malden, Mass.) and Maki Shuchuk (Madison, Wis.) each added goals as well as the nation's top scoring offense hit double-digit goals for the second-time this season. 

Freshman Emily Lambert (Riverview, Mich.) picked up the victory after making 11 saves to improve to 4-0-0 on the season.

Norwich clinched the No. 1 seed for the NEHC Tournament for the eighth straight year with the victory. The Cadets have also won seven of the last eight NEHC regular season titles. 

The Cadets face a huge non-conference test on Tuesday when they host Middlebury College in their final non-conference game of the season at 7 p.m. in Kreitzberg Arena.