Women’s Hockey: 15 Cadets earn NEHC All-Academic team honors

2018 NEHC Women's Hockey All-Academic

MARSHFIELD, Mass. – The Norwich University women's ice hockey team had a league-leading 15 student-athletes earn New England Hockey Conference (NEHC) All-Academic Team honors on Thursday afternoon. 

To be eligible for NEHC All-Academic recognition, a student must carry a minimum of a 3.0 cumulative GPA and have completed one full-year at their current institution. There were a total of 89 honorees among the eight NEHC member institutions. 

Seniors Muranda Toews (Grand Prairie, Alberta), Desirae Kulhmann (Swift Current, Saskatchewan), Laurie King (Waddington, N.Y.), Maki Shuchuk (Madison, Wis.), Teresa Segreti (Salisbury Mills, N.Y.), Nicole Goebel (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan) and Kim Tiberi (Raleigh, N.C.) each earned the honor for the third straight year. 

Juniors Adrieana Rossini (Malden, Mass.), Liesel Baker (Saline, Mich.), Michelle Masperi (Montorfano, Italy) and Carly Menges (Novelty, Ohio) each earned plaudits for the second straight year. 

Sophomores Brynn Wopperer (Amherst, N.Y.), Sophie McGovern (Hermantown, Minn.), Kelley Madden (Novelty, Ohio) and Alyssa Hulst (Scarborough, Maine) each earned the honor for the first time in their careers. 

Norwich won its second national championship and first since 2011 with a 2-1 victory over Elmira College on March 17 at home in Kreitzberg Arena in front of the biggest crowd in program history of 1,242 fans.