Wrestling: Curran, Wagner place third overall, Cadets finish eighth at RIT Invitational

Photo Courtesy of John Curran
Photo Courtesy of John Curran

ROCHESTER, N.Y. - The Norwich University wrestling team traveled to compete in the 53rd Annual RIT Invitational, as the Cadets put on one of their finer performances of the year and finished eighth out of 16 teams. 

The Cadets were led by freshman Daniel Curran (Peterborough, N.H) and junior Michael Wagner who both placed third overall in their respective weight classes. 

Curran's day started over with a 10-8 dec. defeat to Sam Gross of John Carroll, but the freshman quickly bounced back. Notching victories in his next six matchups, Curran rolled through the consolation bracket all the way to a third-place finish. 

Michael Wagner started his day with a victory over Daniel Sibel of University Pittsburg-Bradford, but fell to Michael Curtis of WPI in the next bout. Wagner rebounded with five straight victories as he did his own navigation of the consolation bracket on his way to a third-place finish. 

Norwich is next in action on Wednesday evening when they host Plymouth State for a 6:00 PM bout. 

The complete list of Norwich winners is as follows;


Champ. Round 1 - Sean Randles (Las Vegas, Nev.) won by fall over Jacob Studt (Ulster) (Fall 1:05)

Cons. Round 1 - Isaac Hahr won by decision over Brandon Altieri (Scranton) (Dec 7-6)

Cons. Round 2 - Colin O'Connor won by fall over Isaac Hahr (Fall 0:28)


Champ. Round 1 - Tyler Barker won by decision over Josh Bressette (Oswego) (Dec 10-7)

Cons. Round 2 - Tyler Barker won by fall over Cullen Shade (Rochester Institute of Technology) (Fall 5:58)

Cons. Round 3 - Tyler Barker won by fall over Alex Tillman (Scranton) (Fall 1:35)


Cons. Round 1 - Cameron Smith won by fall over Charles Burke (Scranton) (Fall 3:53)

Champ. Round 1 - Ben Forsman (Voorhees, N.J.) won by decision over Michael McGowan (Rochester Institute of Technology) (Dec 9-6)

Cons. Round 2 - Ben Forsman won by injury default over Arfan Ali (Trinity) (Inj. 1:01)

Cons. Round 3 - Ben Forsman won by decision over Kevin Lyskawa (Trinity) (Dec 10-7)


Cons. Round 3 - Blaise Bressler won by fall over Dylan Millson (Williams) (Fall 1:49)

Cons. Round 4 - Blaise Bressler won by fall over Alec Talanca (Keystone College) (Fall 2:15)


Cons. Round 2 - Daniel Curran won by fall over Timothy Rathbun (Oneonta) (Fall 1:51)

Cons. Round 3 - Daniel Curran won by decision over Stephen Cerrone (Trinity) (Dec 7-4)

Cons. Round 4 - Daniel Curran won in sudden victory - 1 over Troy Seymour (Oswego) (SV-1 13-11)

Cons. Round 5 - Daniel Curran won by fall over Aidan McNally (Scranton) (Fall 2:04)

Cons. Semi - Daniel Curran won by forfeit over Marco Gaita (Wesleyan) (FF)

3rd Place Match - Daniel Curran won by forfeit over Sam Gross (John Carroll) (FF)


Champ. Round 1 - Steve Briganti (Trumbull, Conn.) won by fall over Mike Tanguay (New England College) (Fall 4:39)

Champ. Round 2 - Steve Briganti won by fall over Christian Hipsher (John Carroll) (Fall 4:50)

Cons. Round 4 - Steve Briganti won by fall over Duncan Kreutter (Wesleyan) (Fall 1:27)


Champ. Round 1 - Gabriel Duden won by fall over Peter Amicucci (Scranton) (Fall 1:30)

Champ. Round 2 - Gabriel Duden won by fall over Kristian Dawes (New England College) (Fall 2:33)

Cons. Round 2 - Satchel Stauffer won by forfeit over Andrew Desmarias (New England College) (FF)

Cons. Round 3 - Satchel Stauffer won by decision over Jared Chavez (Scranton) (Dec 6-2)

Cons. Round 2 - Ronnie Caudill (Huber Heights, Ohio ) won by decision over Mitch Dowd (University Pittsburg-Bradford) (Dec 4-1)

Cons. Round 3 - Ronnie Caudill won by fall over Mason Sangillo (Trinity) (Fall 4:06)

Cons. Round 4 - Ronnie Caudill won by medical forfeit over Gabriel Duden (Norwich) (MFF)

Champ. Round 2 - Michael Wagner won by fall over Daniel Sibel (University Pittsburg-Bradford) (Fall 1:07)

Cons. Round 4 - Michael Wagner won by fall over Satchel Stauffer (Norwich) (Fall 0:37)

Cons. Round 5 - Michael Wagner won by decision over Bryce Reed (Oswego) (Dec 11-7)

Cons. Semi - Michael Wagner won by fall over Sam Weinger (Rochester Institute of Technology) (Fall 3:00)

3rd Place Match - Michael Wagner won by forfeit over Simon Chee (Wesleyan) (FF)


Champ. Round 1 - John Rohrig won by fall over Camren Smith (Worcester Polytechnic Institute) (Fall 2:36)

Cons. Round 2 - John Rohrig won by fall over Quentin Kromirs (Ulster) (Fall 1:49)